Family, Safety & Hugs

vermont-with-blanket

What is it about the holidays that cause many people to feel anxious, depressed, or exhausted? I suggest writing a list of things that make you feel blessed, safe and loved- then stay home & enjoy them, because you won’t find any of the items at the mall.

If you have a family, you are blessed.  Every family has a different make-up, traditions, values & beliefs. Family is being surrounded by love, without expectations. No family is perfect- the Curry & Ives paintings on Christmas cards are just that- paintings. Consider the present statistics: 46% of children under 18 years of age live in traditional homes, 73% of married couples admit they settled instead of waiting for their true love- and 17% of those people found their true love after they were married and 46% of them left their spouse to be with their true love. Family is love, and the world needs a lot more of it.

When I was a child, my blanket was my safety. I carried that blanket to every grocery store, restaurant, and family vacation. Feeling safe is the greatest foundation for mental health. A child who feels safe becomes an adult who feels worthy of attention & love. A child raised in an unsafe environment becomes the adult who constantly questions why someone would want to do something nice for them. Adulthood brings many life obstacles and hardships. The adult with a positive mental outlook views these setbacks as temporary; he/she trusts themselves and has the mindset to understand this is a temporary situation.

I love hugs! The power of touch and sharing your energy with someone else is the greatest gift you can give & receive. My childhood was blessed with a bottomless supply of hugs from family & good friends. Hugging increases oxytocin, which stimulates solidarity between strangers. Hugs also decrease levels of cortisol. I once heard human beings need 4 hugs a day for survival, 8 hugs a day for maintenance, and 12 hugs a day for growth.

Family, Safety, and Hugs. My list is complete…no credit card needed.

3 thoughts on “Family, Safety & Hugs

  1. Linda McAuliffe November 25, 2016 / 11:13 am

    Beautifully stated and absolutely true! I enjoyed the unconditional love of my family and the safety net that was afforded me. I am who I am because of my parents’ role models during my childhood and extending into my adulthood. I realize how privileged I was to grow up in a home that afforded love, safety, and the opportunity to spread my wings confidently as I “left the nest.” For that I will always be grateful. Their examples gave me the freedom and confidence to reach out to others and form meaningful, trusting relationships– like the one I share with you, Linda. Thanks for the years we have shared!

    Like

    • lindamassucci November 25, 2016 / 6:00 pm

      Thank you Lin for such a beautiful response. It is the perfect time of year to reflect on all our blessings & give thanks. I am so grateful you walked into my life and continue to be a friend, mentor and inspiration!

      Like

      • Linda McAuliffe November 25, 2016 / 6:38 pm

        Linda, I feel equally blessed to have you in my life. It seems that once we are together for a visit, we are able to just pick up where we left off! I tend to believe that is the true nature of a friendship.
        I hope your weekend will incorporate an activity or occasion that you will totally enjoy! Best wishes to you too!

        Like

Leave a Reply

