Largest Candy Store in Vermont

Candy Shop Store-Front-VT

I didn’t spend a lot of time thinking about a title for this week’s travel blog. Everybody loves candy, and the word gets your attention quickly. At least, it does for me.

I was perusing through the brochures at the hotel on a Sunday evening. I noticed a colorful pamphlet with the title, ‘The Largest Candy Store in Vermont’. The store is located in Middlebury- just 28 miles north of Rutland. My only decision to make was whether to go Monday or Tuesday, but they are closed on Tuesdays. So, tomorrow morning was candy day!

Candy Shop 2 VT

Middlebury Sweets is located just off Route 7 on Ossie Road (Route 116). I drove past the building, since I was looking for this huge building to accommodate the state’s largest candy store. I turned the car around and drove back to 12 Ossie Road. I pulled into the parking lot and saw a sign for UHAUL Rentals and candy. I thought twice about going in, but decided to be open-minded. Good choice!

Candy Shop 4 VT

As I opened the door, I could smell the chocolate! I didn’t want to appear over-zealous and run to the back of the store where the handmade chocolates are sold. So, I graciously walked around the aisles of over 300 bulk candy bins, 72 varieties of jelly beans, 21 M&M colors, 100’s of Novelties, and the Vermont ice cream for sale. I also saw the world’s largest gummy bear and snake- each weighing 27 pounds!

Candy Shop 6

I mentioned to the owner my surprise of the size of the store. She explained the collection of candy at Middlebury Sweets is the largest you will find than in any other store in Vermont.  They cater candy buffets, create gift baskets and have an on-line store. If your sweet tooth is calling you, check out their website at http://www.middleburysweets.com

I left the store with some truffles and chocolate covered Oreos. Oh yeah, I was smiling too!

Leave a Reply

