When the Unexpected Happens… Just Keep Smiling

Book Signing 2

This past week, I was scheduled to attend a Book Talk at a local library. I had rehearsed my twenty minute presentation, signed a few books and bookmarks, and placed a few business cards in my travel bag. I was ready, or so I thought.

The morning of the day of the event, I had scheduled an appointment for a common home maintenance procedure; oil filter & furnace cleaning. A forty-five minute procedure became a seven hour migraine. It was the first time, and hopefully last, I ever had to cancel a book event. Fortunately, other authors would be speaking about their creative works of fiction. I was so envious. Not only a time to share the characters in ‘Legacy of Grandpa’s Grapevine’, but also a time to chat with other authors was now missed.

Book Cover LOGG

That evening, as my hot water returned and the plumber confirmed no devices would be a fire hazard, I sat on my couch with my evening cup of tea & cookies. I looked at my travel bag in the hallway. Today’s events  were not what I had planned.

I smiled. What else could I do?

One thought on “When the Unexpected Happens… Just Keep Smiling

Leave a Reply

