Maggie’s Thought for the Month: Vacations Are Best At Home

Baby Maggie

Certain times of the year, one hears the question- where are you going on vacation? As a school teacher, I hear it most in June.  My response- ‘I am going home.’

Maggie understood a lot of words. I think her favorite word was home. She loved to go in the car, visit friends for walks in different neighborhoods, or go to my parents house. However, once I said ‘let’s go home’, her tail would wag and she would run towards the car. Maggie loved to be home. She liked her schedule, her particular nap areas, and watching from the yard for those squirrels attempting to enter her territory.

As an adult, I have the opportunity to make my own choices and decisions in life. At times, I chose to live in an apartment and have little responsibilities. Other times, I chose to travel across the United States and visit friends or explore on my own; I have seen 47 of the 50 states in America. Presently, I choose to be a homeowner, educator and writer. My jobs keep me busy from sunrise to sunset, and sometimes I forget what my home looks like. I look forward to the time off from work, when I can just be home.

So, as you pack the car and check your list for hotel reservations & rest stops, think of me. I will be sitting at my kitchen table, laptop ready for completing my next novel, and glass of lemonade by my side. I will glance at the squirrels darting across the yard, listen to the ticking of my clock, and smile at my calendar that is free of appointments & deadlines.

It is good to be home.

2 thoughts on “Maggie’s Thought for the Month: Vacations Are Best At Home

  1. Susan Francisco July 1, 2015 / 1:27 pm

    I love this post, Linda. You have a way of capturing in words what so many people likely have randomly felt or thought.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lindamassucci July 1, 2015 / 1:58 pm

      Thank you Susan. I appreciate hearing from readers…especially when they love Maggie’s Thoughts! She is a very smart dog 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

